Movies is Magic (Extended Version)

Anticipate 010
released: April 12, 2010
format: 12" Vinyl
mp3 (released May 25)

Side A:
A1 movies is magic (with Ursula Maurer)
A2 exploding unbearable desires
A3 rimani tu (with Marta Collica)
A4 sound of confusion
A5 for whom the bells toll (alternative version)

Side B:
B1 a lament (with Steve Heather & Zeitblom)
B2 greed mutation betrayal
B3 exposed to life in its brutal meaninglessness
B4 into zero (with Hugo Race)
B5 reality is a warm gun

Get the Flash Player to see this player.

Return to List of Releases

Watch the trailer

Sebastian Meissner continues his critically acclaimed Movies is Magic (released October, 2009) project with an extended version of the album, containing completely new tracks and alternate versions of several others, all of which are seeing vinyl for the first time. Retaining the qualities at the root of the project, Meissner brings it to new places with the vocal contributions of Ursula Maurer, Marta Collica and Hugo Race (of Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds fame), respectively. Adding a bit of pop sensibility to densely reworked arrangements completes the trajectory, complementing the soundtrack by exhibiting Klimek variations of downtempo and house music - variations which manage to feel like looming cinematic excursions that are still tethered to the ground by percussion progressions and the complex qualities of the voices who collaborated.

Like an orchestra restructured in the digital domain, the remnants at the core of each piece lend themselves less to conservatory comparisons than filmic ones. Ambiences reside inside, but are never left untouched or undeveloped, subverting expectations and leaving trails of themselves long after each song ends. Large, picturesque settings produce emotionally compelling mini-narratives, while warm, open progressions balance with the multi-layered shadows that are expected from a Klimek album. A careful percussive phrase, the occasional menacing horn, a tentatively sustained tone, or renching vocal murmur arrange these pieces between intersecting musical camps, while rustling backgrounds creep up to remind one where they stand. The material is the product of a variety of allegiances and alliances: from soundtracks to the range of electro-acoustic and electronic sensibilities that produce such works as these, the multiples of moods and directions all further the frame of the project and the Klimek sound.

The vinyl package comes with a new front cover, a double sleeve, and includes an essay which was part of the original CD package (now arriving larger, on one side of the inner 12" sleeve). The essay, album and track titles take direct inspiration from Slavoj Zizek, whose analysis of cinema was a strong beginning point for the project.